Waldron Educator Named Teacher of the Year


On Friday April 26, Dr. Curtis Varnell of the Guy Fenter Education Service Cooperative presented Waldron Elementary STEM teacher, Mrs. LeAnn Atchley with the Teacher of the Year plaque for 2019.

The Guy Fenter Co-Op serves 23 school districts from Scott, Logan, Johnson, Franklin, Sebastian, and Crawford counties. Mrs. Atchley was selected from 2,200 teachers in the Guy Fenter Co-Op area. Mrs. Atchley was nominated by Mrs. Carolyn Hill of Waldron Middle School and was completely surprised with the honor.

Mrs. Atchley is in her 15th year teaching, her first four years was spent at Booneville with her last eleven years being back at her hometown of Waldron. She received her degree from Arkansas Tech University, after being a stay-at-home mother for many years.

“I was inspired by my mother-in-law, the late Joetta Atchley, to become a teacher. She served the Waldron school district for 30 years. I am thankful and blessed beyond measure with supportive administration, awesome colleagues, and students that love to learn!”

Share this post

Tammy Teague

Tammy Teague

Mansfield native, with roots in Scott County. Daughter, sister, wife and Christian. Education: 1995 MHS graduate; 1999 Arkansas Tech University Graduate - BA in Journalism. Career: Managing Editor - The Citizen; Copy Writer - Southwest Times Record; 20+ years experience in the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top