New Law Costly for Texting Violators

textdrive.png

By Tammy Moore Teague

The new law went into effect today, and it will get into the pocketbook of those who choose disregard it. It’s Act 706, and it will cost first time offenders who are texting while driving a hefty $250 fine.

This law, known as Paul’s law, will increase from the first offense to each additional offense up to $500. If the offender’s actions result in an accident or collision, that fine will be doubled. The law prohibits writing or reading a text-based communication and reading or posting to a social media site. It is not against the law to select of enter a telephone number or name for the purpose of making a telephone call.

Additional laws concurrently in effect are:

Act 1097
Allows the State Highway Commission to increase the speed limit of a controlled-access highways to 75 mph.
Act 313
Allows direct shipment of wine from small farm wineries to residents without an in-person winery visit.
Act 538
Requires lifetime registration on the Arkansas sex offender registry for a person convicted of rape when the rape involved the use of force.
Act 849 cc
Makes it illegal for a person to possess an open alcoholic beverage container in a motor vehicle.
Act 1071
Allows people with a “concealed license to carry” to leave their handgun in their car at work.
Act 1075
Allows daily fantasy sports games and sets 8% tax for paid fantasy sport games.

Share this post

Tammy Teague

Tammy Teague

Mansfield native, with roots in Scott County. Daughter, sister, wife and Christian. Education: 1995 MHS graduate; 1999 Arkansas Tech University Graduate - BA in Journalism. Career: Managing Editor - The Citizen; Copy Writer - Southwest Times Record; 20+ years experience in the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top