2020 Scott County Fair


Fair week in Scott County was jammed packed with fun events for all ages, including a showing of livestock, and home economics.

Things kicked off on Tuesday, September 8 with home economics check-in, followed by livestock on Wednesday, September 9. The livestock judging took place on Thursday, September 10. The buyers dinner and premium sale was held on Friday, September 11. There was no pageant held this year due to COVID-19.

The most coveted award for showmanship is the grand champion award. The following individuals pictured walked away with the buckles: Grand Champion Market Steer-Randa Rhoades, Reserve Market Steer-Chayse Nelson, Grand Champion Replacement Heifer- Dusti Craig, Reserve Replacement Heifer- Karli Anschutz, Grand Champion Market Hog- Randi Rhoades, Reserve Market Hog- Joseph Rhoades, Grand Market Goat- Jackson Moore, Reserve Market Goat- Jaycob Hutchens, Grand Market Lamb- Levi Brown, Reserve Market Lamb- Laklynn Dedmon.

A newly created buckle was presented in memory of Chase Hale, who had won the Grand County Bred Goat every year since 2014. Jackson Moore was the 2020 Grand County Bred winner.


  1. Randa Rhoads – Market Steer (Grand)
  2. Dusti Craig – Replacement Heifer (Grand)
  3. Katherine Herr – Feeder Steer (Grand)
  4. Levi Brown – Market Lamb (Grand)
  5. Jackson Moore – Market Goat (Grand)
  6. Chayse Nelson – Market Steer (Reserve)
  7. Karli Anshutz – Replacement Heifer (Reserve)
  8. Joseph Rhoades – Market Hog (Reserve)
  9. Laklynn Dedmon – Market Lamb (Reserve)
  10. Jaycob Hutchens – Market Goat (Reserve)
  11. Ashlynn Free – Market Steer
  12. Jacob Free – Replacement Heifer
  13. Katy Stark – Market Hog
  14. Gage Evans – Market Goat
  15. Colton Martin – Market Hog
  16. Rebecca Millard – Market Goat
  17. Abbi Stark – Market Hog
  18. Alexis Gebhardt – Market Goat
  19. Ashtyn Moore – Market Hog
  20. Landon Defoor – Market Goat
  21. Rowdy Tucker – Market Hog
  22. Ambrose Poor – Market Goat
  23. Kimberly Defoor – Market Hog
  24. Abigail Herr – Market Goat
  25. Mckenna Williams – Market Hog
  26. Prestan Hutchens – Market Goat
  27. Taylor VanDeWiele – Market Goat
  28. Karlie Evans – Market Goat
  29. Ashadan Poor – Market Goat
  30. Wesley Herr – Market Goat
  31. Taylen Bates – Market Goat
  32. Tristan VanDeWiele – Market Goat
  33. Hunter Evans – Market Goat
  34. Tate Miller – Market Goat
  35. Stephanie Parish – Market Goat
  36. Danielle Herr – Market Goat
  37. Amanda Herr – Market Goat
  38. Wesson Poor – Market Goat
  39. Joseph Rhoades – Market Hog


  1. Farm Bureau
  2. Pottridge Construction
  3. Rice Furniture
  4. Farm Bureau
  5. Farmers Coop
  6. Chambers Bank
  7. R&H Body Shop
  8. Farm Credit
  9. Tyson Foods
  10. Leonard Russell
  11. LKF Farms
  12. Community National Bank
  13. WeighTech
  14. Jim Wilcox
  15. Randy Shores
  16. Southside Vet
  17. Brian Jones
  18. West Fraser
  19. Michael & Missy Williams
  20. True Value Hardware
  21. Abbott Logging
  22. Gene and Shawnda Dedmon

The 2020 Showmanship Awards: Sr Beef- Brooke Hattabaugh, Jr Beef-Caden Hunt, Peewee Beef- Chett Moore, Sr Swine- Ashtyn Moore, Jr Swine-Katy Stark, Sr Goat- Jackson Moore, Jr Goat- Prestan Hutchens, Peewee Goat Wesley Herr, Sr Lamb- Laklynn Dedmon, Jr Lamb- Karli Anschutz, Peewee Lamb- Chett Moore, 2020 Grand Champion 4H Pullet Chain- Audryna Reynolds, Best of Show Bird- Jackson Moore, Mr. Bob Ford Award – Levi Brown, Mrs. Fayrene Stringer Award – Kimmie Defoor.

The 2020 Chase Hale Memorial Scholarship was awarded to two recipients, classmate Irelynn Carpenter and senior Hayden Chronister. Each will receive a $1500 scholarship. The recipients are pictured here with Hale’s parents, Russell and Heather Hale.

The “Kory Dedmon Herdsman” Award is given in memory of Kory Dedmon, who was an excellent showman and very involved in the County Fair. This award is given to one Sr. Showman, and one Jr. Showman. Every showman has the opportunity to compete for this award. This year, 21 kids participated. The winners included Sr Herdsman, Chayse Nelson, and Jr Herdsman, Alexis Gebhardt.

The Scott County Fair Association also recognized Jim Wilcox for his 32 years of service to the fair and exhibitors. He is retiring, and the association expressed their gratitude towards Wilcox for his efforts and hard work over the years.

Congratulations to all the exhibitors of the Scott County Fair! A special thanks to the buyers, supporters and volunteers, who worked hard to make sure this event is a success!

Share this post

Tammy Teague

Tammy Teague

Mansfield native, with roots in Scott County. Daughter, sister, wife and Christian. Education: 1995 MHS graduate; 1999 Arkansas Tech University Graduate - BA in Journalism. Career: Managing Editor - The Citizen; Copy Writer - Southwest Times Record; 20+ years experience in the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top