Trap Shooters Win at Regionals


“Billy Butler of Green Forest Tigers 1 was the other perfect score for the day, and he and Sanderson join three other seniors in the Champion of Champions shoot-off June 1, immediately following the 64-team head-to-head competition…” AGFC News release by Jim Harris

Shooting trap has become a popular sport among high school and junior high school students where it offers yet another option to athletic options.

The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission began the Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program in 2006. The same year the Home School Minutemen trap team was created.

Along with the presentation of a medal, one of the traditions is to shoot a hat when you achieve a perfect score of 50. Bri Sanderson did just that.

West Regionals held at Jacksonville, AR on May 17th (Jr Division) and 18th (Sr) by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commissions’s Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program (AYSSP) saw two local teams qualify for State AYSSP Tournament to be held at Jacksonville, AR May 30 and June 1st.

Friday May 17th The Make Clays Dust Again (M.C.D.A) Minutemen Jr Division team led by Team Captain Rayce Neal with Matthan Neal, Seven Sanderson, Stephen Goodlin and Audrey Davis, took seventh place with a team score of 98. Matthan Neal shot a perfect 25. The Jr Minutemen team has a blend of Home School and Public school students from the Charleston, Mansfield, Ft Smith, Rudy, and Van Buren areas.

Jr Squad finished 7th place flight. Pictured (L to R) Rayce Neal, Stephen Goodlin, Matthan Neal, Seven Sanderson and Audrey Davis.

Saturday May 18th The Ack Ack Minutemen Sr Division team led by Team Captain Garyn Sanderson with Bri Sanderson, Dru Buckner, Derek Davis and Dylan Smith, took second place with a team score of 227. Bri Sanderson shot a perfect 50. The Sr Minutemen teams have a blend of Home School and Public school students from the Mansfield, Ft Smith, Van Buren and Alma areas.

Jr M.C.D.A and Sr Ack Ack teams each will return to Jacksonville, AR on May 31 and June 1 to compete in the statewide 64 team head to head competition.

Sr Minutemen Squad Ack Ack Pictured above placed 2nd.
(L to R) Bri Sanderson, Dru Buckner, Garyn Sanderson, Dylan Smith and Derek Davis.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top