Sebastian County Conservation Awarded Outstanding District for 2019


The Sebastian County Conservation in partnership with the Crawford County Conservation District has been awarded Arkansas Outstanding Conservation District for 2019.

This award was given at the 2019 AACD Annual Awards Presentation in Little Rock on Wednesday, February 13.

The Sebastian County Conservation District is managed by a Board of Directors, who by law, must be landowners in the county. Three directors are elected by the public, and two are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission. The district currently employs a Water Quality Technician, a Soil Technician, and a Conservation Technical Assistant to perform its conservation and education activities. 

According to their website, their mission is “to work with the citizens of Sebastian County to conserve our natural resources – soil, water, forest, wildlife – through partnerships with the Natural Resources Conservation Service and the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission.  We assist Sebastian County landowners to implement voluntary conservation practices on farms and in urban or backyard environments. Founded in 1945, the district has been working to help Sebastian County landowners implement the newest, scientifically founded conservation practices to improve the sustainability and profitability of farming operations and land management systems.”

Congratulations to the Sebastian County Conservation District on being recognized with this prestigious honor.

Share this post

Tammy Teague

Tammy Teague

Mansfield native, with roots in Scott County. Daughter, sister, wife and Christian. Education: 1995 MHS graduate; 1999 Arkansas Tech University Graduate - BA in Journalism. Career: Managing Editor - The Citizen; Copy Writer - Southwest Times Record; 20+ years experience in the news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top