January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Arkansas


MANSFIELD — The Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) announced that January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Arkansas. School board members play an essential role in our community. Mansfield School District will join other districts in Arkansas in celebration of our board by thanking them for the time, talents, and knowledge they bring to our district and for their commitment to the families and children of our community.

“Our board members assume a crucial role in representing our students and advocating for public education,” said Joe Staton, superintendent. “We are very proud of our members, and Arkansas School Board Recognition Month is a great time to recognize them and celebrate their accomplishments.”

Staton added that elected school board members give our Mansfield citizens a voice in education decision making. “While we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, their contribution is a year-round commitment.”

The members serving our district are as follows: Rick Nicodemus, president; Mike Gipson, vice-president; Dewayne Ward, secretary; Lesli Baggett, member, and Jan Carlton, member.

The school board members will be recognized and presented a certificate at the January board meeting.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

scroll to top